DUAL MEET AND TOURNAMENT OPENINGS

To add your Tournament/Dual Meet opening or to post a message looking for dual meets,

send an email to john@cnywrestling.com


LOOKING FOR DUAL MEETS
  • Due to Fabius-Pompey dropping wrestling Hannibal has an immediate opening for a dual meet.  If interested contact Mike Kitts at Mkitts@hannibalcsd.org.
  • Victor (Section V) is looking for a tournament on the weekend of January 24th or January 31st. If you have an opening, please contact Coach Craig Kaper at kaperc@victorschools.org

MEET OPENINGS
November 2014
  • Baldwinsville has openings in the 2014 Larry Brown JV Tournament on November 29th at the Ray Middle School. For full details, see the flyer. If interested in participating, contact Coach Tony Burkinshaw at recsupr@townoflysander.org
  • Vernon-Verona-Sherrill has openings in the 18th Annual George Jones Novice Scholarship Scrimmage. This scrimmage does not count as points against your wrestlers and each wrestler should get 2-4 matches (at least). Weigh-ins are at 7:30 and the competition starts with an informative referees clinic at 8:30. First whistle for wrestling is at 9:30. For full information, consult the tournament flyer. If you are interested in participating, contact Coach Mark Peavey at mpeavey@vvsschools.org.
December 2014
  • Central Square has an opening in the Brett Dixon Duals on Monday December 29 and Tuesday December 30th with a Snow date of Wednesday Dec 31. If interested in either tourney Email Steve LoFaso @ slof1004@yahoo.com.
  • Fairport has openings in the Fairport Dual Meet Tournament on December 12-13, 2014. Ful information can be found here. If interested, contact Mike Kohl at mkohl@fairport.org
  • Cohoes H.S.[Section 2] has openings in its 2 day Dual Meet Tourney scheduled for Dec. 19-20, 2014.  This is a 12 team pooled tourney with all teams wrestling 8 duals. Teams from Section 2/Section 4/Section 1/ Pa. will be participating.  Four mats are used throughout the tourney.   Please contact Coach Poplaski if interested.  [ rpop@nycap.rr.com]

  • Windsor has openings in their 58th Annual Christmas Tournament on December 29-30, 2014.  This is the oldest tournament in New York State and is always very competitive. The tournament will accept between 20-25 teams this year. Early correspondence is greatly appreciated.  Last year, as you know, we hosted 29 teams and it was as big an event as I think we can handle. The entry fee is $250 per team. Entry fee deadline is Monday, December 29, 2014. If interested, contact Coach Jeff Nolan at jnolan@windsor-csd.org.
  • Minisink Valley in Section 9 is looking for a few teams for our dual meet tournament on December 20, 2014. Each team will get 4 duals. For more information, email Scott Hendershot at shendershot@minisink.com
  • Phoenix has openings for the 2014-15 Season for the following tournaments:
  • Gouverneur Duals still has room for two more teams. Teams committed to date include Gouverneur, Canastota, Peru and Sherburne-Earlville. The tournament will be held on December 13th, 2014. This will be a 6 team “Round Robin” dual meet tournament wrestled on 3 mats. Contact: Randy Morrison-315.323.0988 or Joel Baer-315.323.3324 or GOUVERNEURWRESTLING@hotmail.com.
  • Duanesburg has openings in the Duanesburg Duals on December 13th. Six team round robin (large and small schools). If interested, contact Coach Mark Sitors at msitors@yahoo.com.
  • National Champion Wyoming Seminary has openings in the 2014 Flo-Excalibur Tournament on December 19-20. For full information, see the flyer. If interested in participating, contact Coach Scott Green at sgreen@wyomingseminary.org.
  • Cobleskill-Richmondville is looking for two more teams to fill their dual meet tournament on December 20th. This will be a 6-Team Round Robin tournament. If interested please send an email to Justin Kimball (kimballj@crcs.k12.ny.us)
  • Clarence is looking for a few teams to help fill a 1 day dual meet tournament on December 20th. Contact Coach Jason Chase (585) 303-1735 or jchase@Clarenceschools.org
  • Fairport has openings for the 1st Annual Fairport Duals on December 12/13. Each team will receive 8 matches. Committed teams so far are Fairport, Victor, Mexico, and Brockport. If interested please contact Coach Tod Forkey at 585-469-1034 or attforkey@fairport.org
  • Horseheads is looking for teams to fill slots for the Mark Stephens Classic on Dec 5th & 6th this year. First teams to confirm are in, The cost is $350 per team. It is a ten team dual meet tournament. Any questions email wilsones@hotmail.com or call (607) 742-7898. Also you can email Shane Lese at slese18@hotmail.com or call him at (607) 769-5601 ext 1716
  • Indian River has openings in the 2014 North Country Invitational Tournament on December 19-20. Full information can be found in the tournament flyer. If interested in participating, contact Coach Jamee Call at jcall@mail.ircsd.org.
  • Batavia has openings in the 41st Annual Batavia Christmas Tournament on December 13th. Full details can be found in the tournament flyer. If interested in participating, contact Coach Rick Stewart at allstarfence2005@yahoo.com.
  • Otselic Valley is looking for one more team to compete in the Viking Duals on December 13th. Teams committed include Otselic Valley (Sec. 3), Homer (Sec. 3), BGAH (Sec. 4), Oxford Academy (Sec. 4), and Windsor (Sec. 4). You will get 5 matches. If interested, please contact Greg Winn at gwinn@ovcs.org
  • Chttenango is looking for two teams to fill out the field at the Chittenango Duals on December 6th. If interested in participating, contact Coach Curt Kielbasa at ckielbasa@chittenangoschools.org.
  • Cato Meridian is looking for 3 teams for its one day dual meet tournament on Dec. 6, 2014.  Committed teams are Baldwinsville ( B team) and Irondeqouit. Each team will get 5 duals with team trophies for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd and each team will get an MOW trophy to be selected by the coach.  Tournament is usually done by 4pm.  If interested, contact Dan Butler atdaniel_butler@auburn.cnyric.org
  • Churchville has openings in the 33rd Annual DeMeco-Trainor team duals December 13th. If interested in competing, contact coach Justin Raines at JustinRaines@cccsd.org
  • Minisink Valley in Section 9 is looking for 2 more teams for our Wilson Duals on 12/20. Each team will wrestle 4 dual meets. For more information, contact shendershot@minisink.com
  • The Lee Van Slyke Duals at Burnt Hills (Section 2) on December 20th has openings for 1-3 more teams. This is a one day dual meet tournament and each team will get 5 duals. Currently registered teams are Noble, ME, Burnt Hills, Lansingburg, Schoharie, Northern Adirondack, Red Hook, and Longwood. For more information, consult the flyer. If interested in participating, contact Coach Steve Jones at sjones@bhbl.org.
  • Walton (Section IV) has openings in the annual Cuneen-Doane Tournament on December 20th. If interested in participating, contact Coach Paul LeBlanc at pleblanc@waltoncsd.org.
January 2015
  • Central Square has an opening in the CS Duals on Friday Jan 9 and Saturday Jan 10. If interested in either tourney Email Steve LoFaso @ slof1004@yahoo.com.
  • Victor HS has openings in the 2015 Victor "Ahonen" Duals scheduled for January 10th, 2015.  This is a one day dual meet tournament with each team receiving 5 matches. If interested please contact Craig Kaper @ kaperc@victorschools.org
  • Oswego has openings for the 3rd Annual Akley Memorial Duals on January 3rd. If interested, contact coach Kurt D'Angelo at kdangelo@oswego.org. For more information, see the flyer.
  • Canastota has openings in the Fallen Heroes Tournament on January 3rd. If interested, contact Coach John Tyler at jtsteel34@yahoo.com or Coach John Albanese at oftfjohn@verizon.net. For full information, see the flyer.
  • Eastridge High School (Section V) has two openings for the "2nd Annual Lawlor/Zagorski Duals @ Eastridge" on Saturday, January 24th. This will be an 8 team tournament and each team is guaranteed 5 matches. Cost is $100 and 3 officials vouchers per team. If interested, contact Coach Tim Sampsell at timsampsell@hotmail.com. For more information, see the flyer.
  • South Jefferson is looking for teams to fill the Spartan Duals on Jan 17th, 2015.  Each team will wrestle 5 dual meets.  Contact John W Babcock at jwbabcock@spartanpride.org. For more information, see the informational flyer.
  • Central Valley Academy has openings in the 2015 Leo J. Sammon Tournament. For more information, see the informational flyer. If interested in participating, contact Coach Bob Bush at RBush@cvalleycsd.org
  • Midlakes has openings in the Midlakes Duals on January 3rd. For full details, see the tournament flyer. If interested in participating, contact David Peacock at peacockdavid21@me.com
  • Midlakes Varsity Wrestling team is looking for a team to wrestle a dual meet match on January 10th 2015 prior to the Cornell VS Missouri dual meet. If you are interested please contact coach Steve Howcrowft at showcroft@midlakes.org
  • Watkins Glen has openings for the 2015 Mike Watson Invitational Wrestling Tournament on January 9-10. For full information, consult the tournament flyer. If interested in participating, contact Athletic Director Rodney Weeden at rweeden@wgcsd.org.
  • Unatego has openings in the 2015 Dan Wickham Classic on January 10th. For more information,consult the flyer. If interested in participating, contact Athletic Director Matt Hafele at mhafele@unatego.stier.org.
  • Carthage has openings in the 4th Annual Carthage JV Holiday Tournament on January 2nd. Full details can be found here. If interested in participating, contact Coach Don Dorchester at ddorchester@carthagecsd.org.
  • Vergennes High School (Vermont) has 2-3 openings in the Bob Benoure Invitational Tournament on January 24th. For more information, consult the flyer. If interested in participating, contact Coach Bob Benoure at bobbenoure@gmail.com.
February 2015