South Lewis
South Jefferson
Cicero-North Syracuse





96 Farnham (Baldwinsville) dec Post (Illion) 13-7
103 Jewett (Watertown) dec Garrett (South Jefferson) 15-2
112 Ely (Fulton) dec McGee (Chittenango) 9-2
119 Barnes (Marcellus) dec Bowens (Fowler) 7-4
125 Munn (South Lewis) dec Downing (Mexico) 9-2
130 Horning (Baldwinsville) dec Engelhart (Lowville) 8-6 ot
135 Keib (Fulton) dec Hildenbrandt (Adirondack) 9-6
140 Herzig (Lowville) dec Logee (Phoenix) 3-2
145 Morczek (South Lewis) dec Buckingham (Beaver River) 9-2
152 Dibble (South Jefferson) dec Turner (Fulton) 16-8
160 D'Amico (Cicero-North Syracuse) dec Damon (South Jefferson) 8-4
171 Hansen (Fulton) dec Foster (Dolgeville) 13-5
189 Bennett (Marcellus) dec Bellinger (Lowville) 6-4
215 Bickford (Mexico) dec Munger (Lowville) 17-10
275 Watson (Mexico) dec Coone (Homer) 5-4


96 McHugh (Lowville) dec Wise (Fulton) 4-2 ot
103 Esposito (Marcellus) dec Scouten (South Lewis) 10-0
112 Buckley (Indian River) dec Malone (Lowville) 7-4
119 LaPlante (Beaver River) FFT Harris (Carthage)
125 Case (Central Square) dec Moss (Illion) 9-3
130 Hidenbrandt (Adirondack) dec Pickel (South Lewis) 2-0
135 Herzig (Lowville) dec Rauli (Cicero-North Syracuse) 8-1
140 Boice (Vernon-Verona-Sherrill) dec Bond (General Brown) 8-5
145 Lang (Baldwinsville) dec DeMichiel (Whitesboro) 4-3
152 Stevenson (Mexico) dec Penree (Frankfort-Schuyler) 7-6
160 Ryan (Indian River) dec Lance (Sandy Creek) 7-4
171 Foster (Carthage) pin Lansdowne (Homer) 4:25
189 Smith (Pulaski) dec Caley (Phoenix) 5-1
215 Bacon (Sandy Creek) dec Schaak (Cicero-North Syracuse) 1-1 ot crit
275 Britton (Carthage) pin Kellogg (Central Square) 3:51



Fulton wins Section Three championship
The Red Raiders score 130.5 points, and Josh Levea wins the 103-pound crown.

By Neil Kerr

Despite producing just one individual champion in 103-pound sophomore Josh Levea, powerful Fulton scored 130.5 points to run away with first place at the Section Three wrestling finals Saturday night at the Onondaga County War Memorial. Levea, one of three Red Raider finalists, was an upset 3-1 winner over Baldwinsville junior Corey Farnham in a defensive battle in the title match. Farnham had won the 96-pound title a year ago.

Another pair of Fulton finalists - 119-pound Chris Ely and 160-pound Nate Drake - both suffered one-sided defeats in the finals. The top-seeded Ely, last year's 112-pound champion who finished a 36-3 season Saturday night, was manhandled 10-3 by highly regarded Lowville freshman Taylor Malone. So impressive was Malone that he was voted "Most Outstanding Wrestler" of the finals. Malone, 42-3 this season, has 114 career wins with three varsity seasons left.

Fulton's Drake, a junior, bowed to top-seeded senior Bill Lance of Sandy Creek 15-3 at 160 pounds. Lance improved to 35-3, 107-21 for his career.

"Overall, I'm real happy with the season we've had," said Fulton coach Mike Conners, whose Red Raiders (17-2) also won the Section Three dual meet title and finished No. 5 state-ranked as a team. "I just can't celebrate too much right now because it hurts to see kids like Ely and Drake get this far and lose."

All 15 Section Three champions will return to the War Memorial next weekend to compete in the 39th annual state meet.

Of the six defending sectional champions at the War Memorial, B'ville's Farnham and Fulton's Ely were the only two who failed to repeat. The other four - 112-pound Joe Jewett of Indian River, 125-pound Matt Barnes of Marcellus, 140-pound Chris Horning of Baldwinsville and 189-pound Pat Bennett of Marcellus - all won.

Jewett and Barnes both won triple crowns, gaining a sectional title for the third straight year. Jewett posted a 4-0 shutout of South Jefferson's Bill Garrett in the finals. Barnes, who earned his 100th career win, outscored Central Square's Andy Case 8-5.

Horning, the state 130-pound runner-up in 2000, decisioned Anthony Hildenbrandt of Adirondack 1-0 at 140. A second-period escape produced the only point of the match for the unbeaten Horning (38-0, 120-15 for his career).

"Both were just being extremely cautious," Horning said. "I beat him 7-2 earlier this year in a tournament, but we both played defense the whole match tonight."

Horning is among the last three undefeated wrestlers in Section Three, along with Jewett (35-0, 136-14) and Bennett (38-0, 105-21).

Bennett almost failed to defend his 189-pound title because Phoenix junior Jeremy Caley battled the No. 1-seeded Marcellus senior to a 4-4 standoff in regulation. Bennett then won the right to start in the down position as overtime started. When the taller Bennett quickly escaped Caley's grasp, the match ended with Bennett the 5-4 victor.

Led by Levea, Horning, Barnes and Bennett, wrestlers from the revitalized Onondaga League made a strong showing, earning seven individual titles in the 15 weight classes. That corps of champions includes the first champion from Liverpool since 1988 in 171-pound senior Jason Wells, and the first sectional champ from East Syracuse-Minoa since 1987 in 215-pound Chris Doran.

In the night's final match, Mexico produced the 275-pound champion for the third straight year when sophomore Chris Cowen posted a 5-0 shutout of Camden senior Chris Nobis.